207 Duke of Gloucester Street>
Bowden-Armistead House, 207 Duke of Gloucester Street, Williamsburg, VA
See 18 maps of this location
207 Duke of Gloucester Street, VA
Find maps of 207 Duke of Gloucester Street, VA
Documentation compiled after 1933.
Survey number HABS VA-1026
Unprocessed field note material exists for this structure (FN-215).
Building/structure dates: 1858 initial construction
Building/structure dates: 1967 subsequent work
Significance: Lemuel J. Bowden, lawyer, judge, and later mayor began this formal Greek Revival style house in 1858. The architect is not known, however, the contractor was the owner's brother Henry M. Bowden. Its Baltimore brick facade and classical inspired white marble porch and steps were unique in Williamsburg. The cornice has been replaced twice, but the rest of the exterior is unchanged, except for a 1967 addition on the rear. In 1875 the house was sold to Robert T. Armistead, and is still in the Armistead family.
Bowden, Henry M.
Armistead, Robert T.
Historic American Buildings Survey (Library of Congress)
Back to 207 Duke of Gloucester Street, Virginia