Edward House & Dependencies (Ruins), Old House Road, Spring Island, Spring Island, Beaufort County, SC
Spring Island, Spring Island, SC
Find maps of Spring Island, SC
Documentation compiled after 1933.
Survey number HABS SC-868
Building/structure dates: 1770 initial construction
Building/structure dates: 1800 subsequent work
Building/structure dates: 1862 demolished
Significance: The Edwards House and its dependencies constitute one of the best preserved groups of late eighteenth to early nineteenth-century tabby plantation buildings in Beaufort County. Of tripartite form, the main house reflects an architectural response to both the particular demands of tabby construction and local climatic conditions. Two small tabby-built dependencies, here called the north and south flankers, are unique structures for Beaufort County. A larger tabby outbuilding sitting northwest of the main house was apparently erected as a tenement for domestic slaves or servants. As such, it is an unusual survivor, with only one other similar building known. Additionally, vestiges remain of an extensive landscape layout installed during the early nineteenth century, which originally incorporated both formal and picturesque elements.
Conservation & Restoration
Barksdale, Mary Cochran
Spring Island Company
Boucher, Jack E., Photographer
Brooker, Colin, Historian
Historic American Buildings Survey (Library of Congress)
Back to Spring Island, South Carolina