Old St. Paul's Episcopal Church, 233 North Charles Street, Baltimore, Independent City, MD
233 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD
Find maps of Baltimore, MD
Documentation compiled after 1933.
Survey number HABS MD-1124
Building/structure dates: 1854 initial construction
Building/structure dates: 1892 subsequent work
Building/structure dates: 1902 subsequent work
Building/structure dates: 1929 subsequent work
Building/structure dates: 1956 subsequent work
Building/structure dates: 1965 subsequent work
See also HABS No. MD-409.
Significance: Old St. Paul's is the only surviving Richard Upjohn-designed building in Baltimore. Within the architect's œuvre, its use of the Early Christian/Romanesque basilica style is unique. The present interior, dating largely from a 1904 redecoration program, contains stained glass, mosaic and decorative painting by Tiffany & Company, D. Maitland Armstrong, and Chase & Ames of Boston. In addition, St. Paul's is the oldest Episcopal parish in Baltimore, established 1692, with many prominent families and historical figures among its parishioners and guests. The present building is the third church on this site, the first dating back to 1732, the second built in 1814 to designs by Robert Cary Long, Jr. The Upjohn church incorporates the foundation and some exterior walls from the Long church.
Tiffany & Company
Armstrong, D. Maitland
Chase & Ames
Long, Robert Cary
Miles, Coates & Youle
Rosenthal, James W., Photographer
Ossman, J. Laurie, Historian
Historic American Buildings Survey (Library of Congress)
Back to Baltimore, Maryland