Historic Photographs

Home

Search

Subject Browse
Browse by Subject >>

State/City Browse
Alaska
Alabama
Arkansas
Arizona
California
Colorado
Connecticut
District of Columbia
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Iowa
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Massachusetts
Maryland
Maine
Michigan
Minnesota
Missouri
Mississippi
Montana
North Carolina
North Dakota
Nebraska
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
Nevada
New York
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Virginia
Vermont
Washington
Wisconsin
West Virginia
Wyoming


Home

>

Kansas

>

Fort Riley

>

Fort Riley, Building No. 117, 117 Lower Brick Row, Fort Riley, Riley County, KS



B&W Photos

HB478626

HB478627

HB478628

HB478629

HB478630


Data Pages


Photo Caption Pages


Item Title


Location
117 Lower Brick Row, Fort Riley, KS

Find maps of Fort Riley, KS


Created/Published
Documentation compiled after 1933.

Notes
Survey number HABS KS-54-K
Building/structure dates: 1889 initial construction
Significance: Building #117 represents the brick double officers quarters constructed for non-commissioned officers during the late 1880's expansion of Fort Riley. Its plain brick walls, brick segmental arch lintels and rock-faced limestone sills and foundation are repeated in the duplexes, Building #119 and #121 on Lower Brick Row along with the single quarters, Building #73, on Holbrook Avenue, and suggest their designation for use by non-commissioned officers. These buildings contrast markedly with both the smooth-face limestone quarters of the 1850s and the later rock-face limestone quarters of the late-nineteenth to early-twentieth centuries. Buildings #117, #119 and #121, all built in 1889, are unique because of their double facade design. They have an entry way on either side elevation, neither of which faces onto the street. Also, these buildings have a unique multi-gabled hipped roof not seen on any other quarters on post including Building #73 Holbrook. The main block has a hipped roof, but at each corner there is a front-facing gable roof. Historically, all the buildings of Lower Brick Row were built after the fort became designated as a school for the training of cavalry and light-artillery forces in 1886. Lower Brick Row's out-of-the-way location, west of the main post, suggests the fort's renewed vigor and physical expansion during the late-nineteenth century, and the military's continuing effort to group officers of similar rank.

Subjects
Brick Buildings
Officers' Quarters
Domestic Life


Related Names
Pond, Capt. George E.
Junction City Press Brick Company
Crawford, Catherine, Field Team
Whye, Mike, Photographer
Rodriguez, Joseph, Historian


Collection
Historic American Buildings Survey (Library of Congress)

Contents
Photograph caption(s): 
1. NORTHWEST & NORTHEAST ELEVATIONS, LOOKING SOUTH.
2. WEST CORNER SHOWING NORTHWEST & SOUTHWEST ELEVATIONS, LOOKING SOUTHEAST.
3. SOUTH CORNER SHOWING SOUTHEAST & SOUTHWEST ELEVATIONS, LOOKING NORTHEAST.
4. NORTHEAST & SOUTHEAST ELEVATIONS, SHOWING STREET, LOOKING SOUTHWEST.
5. MAIN ENTRY, LOOKING NORTHWEST, SHOWING MAIN STAIRCASE LEADING UP AND DOWN, FROM 1ST FLOOR.


Back to Fort Riley, Kansas